Bona fide + blue jeans

Today was a long day. One of those days where I woke up for my 8am, put on an outfit I set out last night because I knew I would be too tired to pick out something in the morning, and chugged a bottle of caffeinated water (yes that’s a thing, it’s magical) on my way out the door. To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure if I would be able to keep myself awake through three straight power lectures. A few hours later I sat in chemistry and frantically attempted to copy down lecture notes as my professor sped through PowerPoint slides faster than I thought humanly possible.

I finally sat down next to my friend Jordan in my last class of the day, relieved I found someone to vent to. Just as I was about to open my mouth to complain about my morning, she looked at me and complimented my outfit with a soft but genuine smile. I paused to think about what I had thrown on this morning while probably still half asleep and remembered I was wearing my Be Bona Fide shirt. I thought of Be Bona Fide’s “choose your mood” philosophy and glanced down at my “Choose joy” Mantraband. In that moment, I decided to hold my tongue instead of allowing my negative emotions to get the better of me.

Fast forward a few hours and I was in my first chem lab of the semester that “should only take about 45 minutes” according to classmates who had done it earlier in the week. Multiply that estimated amount of time by three, and that’s how long it took my partner and me to finally finish our lab. When packing up to leave nearly three hours later, I found my headphones in my backpack. I thought to myself what a great time it would be to break out my “C’mon get happy” playlist I hadn’t touched in a couple weeks.

Walking to the beat of “Build Me Up Buttercup” through Library Mall, I soaked up the view of the Wisconsin capitol in the distance and State Street sprawled out long in front of me. Even with a comfortable breeze, the warm September sun seemed to melt away the stress of the long day that was finally behind me. I came home to my beloved Tru Quad, ready to plop into bed and take a pre-dinner nap, only to find two of my roommates performing a theatrical rendition of High School Musical 2. Thank goodness moods are contagious, because I couldn’t help but break out in a stupidly big grin for the first time all day. Clearly my friends had chosen joy today, so why couldn’t I?

Blah blah blah, what was my purpose in writing this post anyway? If you’re still reading, bless your heart. Basically, I wanted to give a first-hand account of how choosing your mood, changing your attitude, and seeing the positive can actually make you feel happier. I’m still feeling inspired from my first visit to Greek IV (a group of Christians in Greek Life) last night, so I’ll end this post with a quick benediction: Go in peace. Choose joy!

p.s. If you’re wondering why this post’s title includes “blue jeans,” it’s because I was wearing my new overalls from Gap that I ADORE. They’re super comfy and not to mention functional; they’re easy to throw on and basically an outfit in themselves. Plus, they let me embrace my inner 90s-wannabe, a true dream come true.

2 thoughts on “Bona fide + blue jeans

Leave a Reply

