Closing Time on 2016

Why hello there! It’s been a while, no? When I started this blog at the beginning of the school year, I had full intentions of posting once a week. Well, I guess that was a great goal for the three weeks it lasted…

Since September, I’ve enjoyed picking up writing for The Sweat Scene, being a college rep/social media intern for Elevate Wellness, and starting a new campus job at Salads UP. But along with these responsibilities, I’ll be joining the Gamma Phi exec board and taking on a leadership role for the Dietetics and Nutrition Club next semester. And while I couldn’t be more excited to get started with these new positions, I know it will be even tougher than before to juggle my commitments and still make time for regular blog posts and other things I enjoy.

That being said, I’m trying to be more realistic with myself in 2017 and encourage you to do the same. I know I won’t have the time or energy to give 100% to each aspect of my life if I’m overcommitted, and you can probably relate. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been the person that says yes to everything – honestly, I’m pretty sure I even used it as a topic for one of my college application essays… But I’ve realized there’s no way we can feel, look, or perform our best if we’re constantly fried out from studying, working, trying to stay committed to 30 different clubs, etc. etc. etc.

I’m not usually one for New Year’s resolutions – partly because I’m not the best at keeping them, and also because I don’t feel like I need a landmark date to make a change in my life. But this year I’m focusing on BALANCE of all kinds: healthy choices vs. treats/indulgences, work hard vs. play hard (because Wisco, obviously), discipline vs. self-care… you get the point.

Over the past year I’ve realized the importance of having a solid life balance and I plan to take it with me into 2017. Some days that means stepping away from the cereal counter in the G Phi house because my body doesn’t need a late-night bowl of sugary granola. But if it also means skipping an early morning workout because I stayed up until 2am studying, so be it.

2016 wasn’t a particularly exciting year compared to 2015, which would be hard to top in terms of eventfulness and craziness (*cough* high school graduation, starting college, and brain surgery *cough*). But, in the past year I did learn a lot about myself, the world of health/food blogging, and chemistry of course. I’ve had so much fun starting the GVBF Instagram and blog, and I know there is nothing but opportunity for learning and growth in the next year. In the words of Semisonic, “every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end,” so here’s to 2017: taking on new roles; not taking ourselves too seriously; learning, growing, and finding balance in all areas of life; good vibes; and of course, better food.

2016bestnine

#2016bestnine

p.s. If you want to read any of my articles from The Sweat Scene this fall, here they are!

p.p.s. Check out the Elevate Wellness Instagram for a dose of wellness inspiration every few days 🙂 Ginny and Abby, co-founders of this small business, are experts on everything from habit change to creating a positive self-image, and couldn’t we all use some more of those things in our lives?

2 thoughts on “Closing Time on 2016

Leave a Reply

