7 Ways to Top Your Toast

As a total food geek, I get super excited about random food holidays. Take today for example: National Toast Day! Most people would just brush this off and call today a normal day, but I argue it’s anything but. It’s a chance for me to share with you some of my favorite unique toast toppings, because no one wants to eat the same thing every day, or even every week for #ToastTuesday. My favorite way to eat all these combos is on whole grain toast, but they’re also great on whole wheat English muffins or even thin sweet potato slices. Whether you prefer your toast sweet, savory, or a bit of both, I’ve got all your options covered here.

Sweet

Nut butter + banana

img_1971

This is my go-to nearly any time I eat toast. If you follow my Instagram, you’ve probably seen it a few too many times. It’s incredibly versatile because you can switch up the type of nut butter you use: peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter (my new favorite), etc. Get creative! Just try to pick a natural nut butter with only nuts and (maybe) salt, omitting added oils and sugar. Drizzle a little honey on top and/or sprinkle a few chocolate chips for some extra sweetness.

PB & J

Who says you need two slices of bread for this classic? Just like nut butter + banana, you can sub peanut butter for almond butter if you’re allergic. Plus, there’s an endless variety of jams and jellies out there just begging to be tasted! Try something unique the next time you go to the grocery store, like strawberry rhubarb or apricot. Just make sure you’re choosing a natural nut butter and a jam without preservatives and added sugars.

Savory

Avocado + egg

img_0346

Did you really think I would forget about avocado toast, the trendiest Instagram food of 2016? This works well if the avocado is a tad overripe because it will spread easier without smooshing your toast underneath. If your avo is still a bit hard, mash it in a bowl before spreading on toast to avoid a crumby mess. Any style egg will work for the top, but I prefer mine scrambled to avoid biting into a runny yolk. Lots of people love poached or sunny-side up as well – just figure out what works best for you. A dash of sea salt and pepper on top give this combo the little flavor kick it needs, but you can experiment with spices like turmeric, paprika, and cumin too.

Hummus + tomato

I prefer this one as more of an afternoon snack rather than breakfast. The hummus will give you a little protein boost to power you through an afternoon slump, and thinly sliced tomatoes are a tasty way to squeeze some more veggies into your day. Play with a bit of salt and pepper for a savory kick.

Combo

Ricotta cheese + green apple slices

I wrote a blog post about this combo a while back in September, but I stand by it as a tried and true favorite to this day. Ricotta has a mild taste and super spreadable consistency with just a hint of saltiness. The green apple slices are subtly sour and contrast the taste of the ricotta perfectly. It also works great with pear slices, so feel free to play around with what you like more. For a bit of added sweetness, try a little drizzle of honey over the top and a dash of cinnamon.

Avocado + feta cheese + berries + cinnamon

img_1320

As we already discussed, avocado toast has been all the rage in food trends recently. I discovered this combo over winter break when I was experimenting with new toast toppings. Feta is quite salty, but the sweetness of the berries cuts it perfectly. Cinnamon adds some extra flavor while the avocado makes a great textured base while providing some healthy fat to help you absorb fat-soluble nutrients in the fruit. Plus, it will probably get you tons of Instagram likes if you hashtag #avotoast 😉

Apple jelly + sharp white cheddar

I know jelly and cheese sounds like a strange combo. I know because I said the same thing to my dad when he made me try it back in my elementary school days. But, I’m so glad he did because this remains one of my childhood favorites! Most people have never tasted or even heard of apple jelly, which shocks me because it was my favorite kind growing up, but I digress. You can likely find it at any big chain grocery store and most local places, too. The best type of cheese to pair it with is a sharp cheddar; my favorite is Vermont white cheddar. The flavor combo can’t be beat; it’s a very similar idea to brie and apples complementing each other.

 

I hope these toast recipes give you some inspiration for your next toast endeavor! Maybe you’ll even have something new to showcase on your next #ToastTuesday… If you have any favorite toast toppings I haven’t listed, pop them in the comments because I’d love to hear! And if you make one of my combos, feel free to post it on Instagram and tag me @goodvibesbetterfood. Happy almost-weekend!

4 thoughts on “7 Ways to Top Your Toast

Leave a Reply

